Camarillo Cougars with Cal Cup 2012 $5000 winner’s check

May 28, Moorpark, CA: After four days of non-stop field hockey in the beautiful setting of Moorpark College, Camarillo Cougars and Jolie Pitts were the big winners of the 2012 California Cup on Memorial Day. Both champions received the $5,000 prize money that went along with the Super Division titles at the 41st edition of this premier international field hockey tournament. The Cougars defeated Dirty Birds of Canada 4-1 for their second straight Cal Cup title while Jolie Pitts needed a 3-2 shoot-out competition victory over Monarcas for their first Cal Cup championship.

Jon Ginolfi scored two goals while Andrew Zayac stood his ground in goal time after time to lead the Camarillo Cougars over the Dirty Birds for a 4-1 championship victory. Dutch import Roderik Huber added one goal and after David Jameson got one goal back for the Birds in the 63 minute, the Cougar captain Binh Hoang made it 4-1, by deflecting in an impossible angle attempt by a falling Huber from the left, at the 67th minute mark leaving no doubt of the Cougars Cal Cup repeat much to the delight of a large holiday crowd.

Vancouver Millionaires needed a 4-2 shoot-out win to take third place over Hockey Factory after a 4-4 tie in regulation in an entertaining encounter. Scott Tupper scored 3 goals including the last one for the Millionaires to send the game into the shoot-out competition.

Camarillo Cougars: Hoang, Binh; Thornton, Andy; Hoang, Tommy; Harris, Patrick; VAN SOMEREN GREVE Alexander; WIESE Rutger; BARBER Kevin Scally, Ian; Cota, Patrick; Holt, Will; Nakamura, Shawn; Huber, Roderik; SCALLY Colin; HARRIS Sean Zayac, Andrew(GK); Ginolfi, Jon

Dirty Birds: SCHOUTEN Andrew; SMYTHE John; MARTIN Benjamin; HOBKIRK Mike; MCINERINY David; GUEST Aaron; MEAKIN Connor; JAMESON David; MAHAL Harsimranjit; HILDRETH Richard; GLEN Lachlan; SMYTHE Iain; GUEST Matthew; HIGNELL Nich; CARTER David (GK); PAREDES Jesse

Umpires: Saleem Aaron (USA), Neil Smith (UK)

Jolie Pitts took their first Women’s Super Division title with a 3-2 shoot-out win over the Monarcas after a goalless regulation. It was sweet revenge for 1-0 pool play loss to Monarcas on Day 1 of the tournament for Jolie Pitts. However, Monarcas have no one but themselves to blame as they squandered seven penalty corners due to poor execution and it cost them the tournament and the $5,000 cash!

In the third place match Rush’d easily defeated Chacras Vintage from Argentina 4-0 as Vianney Campos netted a pair.

Jolie Pitts: STOCKSTILL Amber; MOELJADI Brenna; PERKINS Sarah; TRAVOS Xanthe; SCALLY Jackie; LENNINGTON Ashley; SNODGRASS Stephanie Kisic; LANDEROS Yvett; RICHARDSON Bailey; MOORE Hilary; MCGRATH Kaily; MCCURDY Caitlin; SKEELS Liz; DANIELSON Tara; SAEZ Lauren (GK)

Monarcas: CICCHI Megan; PAREDES Margaria; VALDEZ Annabel; CORREA Cindy; BELL Elisa; PUCCIO Tanya; AVILA Jennifer; FIGUEROA Adriana; HARUTYUYAN Gohar; BRYAN Miranda; GUZMAN Alma; SABER Amanda; TER PELLE Evelien; CABREY Carolyn; SERMA Mayra; CASTILLO Jesus Ahidee

Umpires: Emma Simmons (Bermuda), Suzi Sutton (USA)

While the Men’s Super division included ten teams competing in two pools, the Women’s Super division this year only consisted of five teams competing in round robin play.

The Ross Rutledge award for the top goal scorer went to both Pat Harris and Jon Ginolfi of the Cougars. Each finished with 8 goals. This is the second year in a row Harris has won this award. Last year he was tied with two others for the honor.

Congratulations to Cal Cup 2012 Tournament Committee and everyone involved for once again doing a GREAT job hosting this excellent international field hockey tournament despite all the challenges. This also includes providing an excellent team of international umpires under the leadership of Sumesh Putra of Canada for the Super Divisions. Veteran umpires Saleem Aaron (USA), Emma Simmons (Bermuda), Adrian Robledo (Argentina), Neil Smith, Pritpal Sihota (UK) and Rene Zelkin (USA) were well supported by Suzi Sutton (USA), Meghan McLennan (Canada), Rodney Thornton (Australia) and Devin Hooper (Guyana).

“California Cup is organized by a team of dedicated volunteers and is sustained by their undying passion to grow field hockey in America,” said Billie Ahluwalia, Tournament Chair. “We are grateful to all players, officials, and volunteers for making Cal Cup 2012 a memorable one.”

130 teams from five nations competed in 13 divisions ranging from Mixed Under-8 to Men/Women Super Divisions at the Moorpark College and Arroyo Vista Park venues from May 25-28. The 41st edition of the tournament more popularly known as the Cal Cup featured over 2,500 players from all over the globe.

For a complete list of all Cal Cup 2012 winners and final standings, please visit